1F25 post1: media impact

Be original 

Mass media has a very significant role in the way I see things worldwide. I am a 17 year-old girl living in a world where you are judged no matter what you do.  I am a need to know person so I am constantly on social media networks finding out what is happening in the world at that very moment, whether it is world events that happen each and every day to the breaking news happening now. My iPhone was the worst purchase I ever made because I am now addicted to many social media networks such as Twitter, Facebook, Vine, and Instagram. The moment I wake up I check my news feeds to see what has happened over night with my followers, friends and even celebrities that I follow. All of these social media networks morph the way I see other people and myself. One positive thing that these social networks provide for me is the incentive to strive to be the best that I can in every aspect of my life whether it be my physical appearance to the way I portray myself in my community.  Many others just like me are bombarded with social media networks all over the world each and every day forming pictures in our minds of the ideal person living the ideal life. The question I am constantly asking myself is what is the ideal life? The ideal life for me to live may not be the ideal life for someone else. Social media networks have taken the originality out of people, society has simply become lazy when it comes to being creative with the way we as individuals live our lives.

 

 A worldwide problem brought on by social media is the fact of appearance. I feel as if I cannot turn on the TV any more without being overrun with weight loss commercials, special diet pills and other things that will simply and easily make you ‘skinny and beautiful’ or so they say. It is very hard for people to feel comfortable with themselves in today’s society because of the constant pressure to be skinny, pretty and perfect. These commercials that are constantly played place a picture in our minds of the ideal body when again, these bodies are unattainable and unrealistic. Media outlets constantly create an unrealistic picture in our minds.

 

 I am challenging myself to be more realistic about the things I want to obtain in not only my physical well-being but simply in life, I challenge you to make realistic goals for yourself that are creative and not stolen from some social media network. Be original, be yourself. 

Leave a comment